Reviews for Moments

Submit A Review | View All Reviews

Hi, I took the journaling class to learn how to go about the process of journaling. From listening to the stories that Bobbi wrote in her journals I now know how a story should sound so that it would be interesting to anyone who happens to read it. I have created stories in my head of childhood antics but have not committed them to paper yet. That will be my next step. Thank you Bobbie for opening my eyes to a new hobby.

Judy

Judith C. Petersen

Circulation Assistant

Shelton Timberland Library

(William G. Reed Public Library)

710 W. Alder St.

Shelton, WA 98584

360-426-1362

jpetersen@trlib.org

Reviewed by: Judy in Shelton

Added: October 18, 2010 Delete this entry  Reply to entry  View IP address  
Bobbi Illing's journaling presentation was fabulous. She discussed suggestions for successful journaling, and shared some of her personal journal entries. Somehow, Bobbi was able to generate enthusiasm and, at the same time, create such a safe environment that many audience members volunteered to share their personal journal entries. I purchased a copy of one of Bobbi's books and I am inspired each time I open it. Thanks, Bobbi!

Jamie

Jamie Allwine

Library Manager

Winlock Timberland Library

322 NE First Street

PO Box 428

Winlock, WA 98596

(360) 785-3461, ext. 2853

jallwine@trlib.org

Reviewed by: Jamie in Winlock

Added: October 18, 2010 Delete this entry  Reply to entry  View IP address  
Bobbi really jump-started my journaling again! I enjoyed hearing her read from her own journals --she provided the creative spark to get me going and I was not only able to write up a recent story right on the spot, during her workshop, but also jotted down ideas for future writings. Thanks, Bobbi!

Gail Park

Senior Library Manager, Tumwater Timberland Library

7023 New Market

Tumwater, WA 98501

tel.: 360-943-7790 ext. 2761

Reviewed by: Gail in New Market

Added: October 18, 2010 Delete this entry  Reply to entry  View IP address  
Bobbi Illing's writing exudes a beautiful prosaic style, even when she describes some of the most heartwrenching times in her life. This is a wonderful companion book for all women, for we have all experienced some of these "moments" in our lives.

Reviewed by: Rena Mason in Olympia, Washington

Added: March 9, 2010 Delete this entry  Reply to entry  View IP address  
When Bobbi came to our library to do a special reading and writing workshop, there was a good turnout. We had such a variety of people and they all felt welcome and open to Bobbi. She has a way of making everyone feel comfortable. She opened up by reading intimate things from her experiences. Then, when we did writing exercises, most everyone was eager to read out loud. She just made us feel safe to share our thoughts. She is a very inspiring woman and you can just tell she is full of grace.

Reviewed by: Eileen West in Westport WA

Added: November 5, 2008 Delete this entry  Reply to entry  View IP address  
Bobbi Illing is a gift to everyone who aspires to write and for people who seek a way to heal themselves through creative expression.
Her library readings and journalling exercises allow people to see what's possible by just giving them permission to let the words flow.
She is an extraordinarily warm, soulful and enthusiastic speaker. She has the ability to be both inspirational and, at the same time, totally down to earth and without pretense.
I heartily recommend that people at all levels of writing skill or experience attend Bobbi's events.

Reviewed by: Keri Brenner in Olympia, WA

Added: January 29, 2008 Delete this entry  Reply to entry  View IP address  
Hi Bobbi,

Just have to let you know you are a woman after Gods own heart, I love your book and have shared it so many others who have been blessed by it. I am so inspired by your writings and it's such a pleasure to know you and love you. Thank you for you beautiful heart of giving and sharing your love of life with us.

Lov Cheryl

Reviewed by: Cheryl Pattersonc in Rainier, WA

Added: January 16, 2008 Delete this entry  Reply to entry  View IP address  
Hi Bobbi,

Yesterday I picked up your book Moment for myself and a friend at the vintage garden. I spoke with the owner and she though you gave journaling classes, if you do I would love to know when and where. I just love your book its so refreshing and I picked a copy for my neighbor who lost her son last year in Iraq to read.

Cheryl Patterson

Reviewed by: Cheryl Patterson in Olympia, WA

Added: December 16, 2007 Delete this entry  Reply to entry  View IP address  
Dear Ms. Illing,

My name is Elizabeth Henley and I live in Garrett Park, Maryland. My student and friend, Elaine Kennedy, loaned me your book yesterday, which her niece Cathy sent to her when she found out Elaine had been writing some memoir pieces. I believe Cathy knows you.

I am a writing teacher and have worked with students of all ages, children through elders in New York City where I lived for 30 years until recently. I've taught in New York University's School of Continued and Professional Studies program for 21 years, have had groups of private students of all ages for 16 years, worked for 12 years teaching a year long required writing course to graduate illustration students at The School of Visual Arts. Currently I teach a poetry workshop at Springhouse, an assisted living residence in Bethesda, Maryland, a memoir writing workshop at the Holiday Park Senior Center in Wheaton, Maryland, and have a private group of elder women students here in the town of Garrett Park, as well as commuting to NYU. I moved to Maryland three years ago to care for my 90 year old mother (and 11 year old daughter). I don't mean to be giving a list of my "credentials" as much as to let you know how much personal writing I read and have read over many years.

I am stunned, moved and grateful to have begun reading your book. Yesterday I shared it with my private students and this morning with my senior memoir students. Everyone wants to purchase a copy, if possible! I also would love to purchase a copy and would, with your permission, want to use your writings in my classes, for students to study both form and content. I would want my students to purchase Moments also. However, I wonder if you have considered having a publishing house take your book? I feel confident it would be widely read and loved, and that you might even make some decent money from it. And then there's always Oprah, Tyra Banks, NPR and various other forums where you could share excerpts and speak about your process of writing. Perhaps none of this appeals to you at all!

I feel compelled to contact you to say how courageous and powerful your writing is, how deeply heartfelt your words speak and reach. I would be delighted if you have a moment to write back to me.

Thank you for your beautiful words~

Elizabeth Henley

P.O. Box 283
11009 Kenilworth Avenue
Garrett Park, Maryland 20896-0283
elizhenley@aol.com
917-628-6684

Reviewed by: Elizabeth Henley in Garrett Park, Maryland

Added: December 15, 2007 Delete this entry  Reply to entry  View IP address  
Dorothy Haas
Reference Librarian
Shelton

________________________________

From: Dorothy Haas
Sent: Tue 9/11/2007 10:31 AM
To: All Staff
Subject: Author Bobbi Illing

Hi everybody, just wanted to let you know how wonderful Bobbi's presentation was on Sat. We had standing room only!
Bobbi Illing is a northwest native, currently living in Tumwater, and has written a journal of her tumultuous life. On Sat she read from her journal, Moments, and also taught journaling techniques.
She is a very engaging speaker and she had her audience crying as well as laughing. She is also so inspiring that at least 10 of the audience have now formed a local journaling group, which Bobbi will initially guide.
Her website is bobbi-illing.com and her email is i.bobbi@gmail.com.
Schedule her and sit back and enjoy!
Dorothy

PS Her fee is free.

Dorothy Haas
Reference Librarian
Shelton

Reviewed by: Dorothy Haas in Shelton

Added: December 15, 2007 Delete this entry  Reply to entry  View IP address  

<< First  |  < Prev  |  1 2 3 4  |  Next >  |  Last >>